the path to wholeness

Posted on Updated on

As I sit here realizing I’m almost half way done my medical education, I can’t help but feel conflicted. There has been so many ups and downs and twists and turns over the last 2 years I can’t imagine it being that close to graduation… the day we are released in to the real world – Doctors of Naturopathic Medicine. This journey began as one for a career I thought I would thrive in. A “job” I could get up every day excited to be at, help people, play detective. That was the dream. Little did I know I wasn’t stepping through the doors to school each day but I was quietly walking into my own soul, finding myself here and exploring a whole new outlook on life.

What is “wholeness”?

Wholeness: 1. the condition of being sound in body; 2 the quality or state of being without restriction, exception, or qualification.

Each day I learn more about myself, I figure out what works and what doesn’t. I learn that I do, in fact, have important opinions and mindsets that I didn’t know existed within me. I have found a spiritual side I knew I was suppressing for years without having the proper outlet to explore this aspect of my life. The doors are wide open now, and each day I may take 1 step forward or 2 steps backward, but I am navigating my way to what will one day be known has my personal wholeness. The first battle with yourself is allowing your mind to open these doors to your oneness. Allow your mind to pass no judgements and accept what you find as a piece of your being. The hardest part of navigating your journey inward is acceptance – once you can begin to love yourself you will find an eternal love for those around you that wasn’t possible before.

The world truly is a magnificent place, but we are all too wrapped up in our go-getter lives to notice. It’s important to take time each day to sit quietly and reflect, not just on how you think you feel, but on the true nature of your emotions. Turn your mind off for once and just be with yourself. Accept yourself. Love yourself. YOU are the only person that will be with you as you walk this Earth and maybe the next – so give yourself that time.

In love & health

K.

Leave a Reply

