(A delayed) Health Tip Tuesday! – 08/05/2014

Posted on Updated on

Better late than never, right…

 

Yesterday I wrote my NPLEX exam (Naturopathic Physicians Licensing Exam) – something I had been studying and preparing for since June. We may have had the summer free of classes, but our summers were not “free” by any means. Cramming 2 years worth of pathology, physiology, biochemistry, microbiology, immunology & genetics into our brains was intense – and also hard to believe we learnt all that PLUS all of our naturopathic modalities as well. Regardless of the outcome it’s over and I get to spend the rest of August relaxing and enjoying some much-deserved ME time.

My tip this week is simple and goes hand-in-hand with last week. It still amazes me when I hear of people that don’t eat breakfast. That saying “breakfast is the most important meal of the day” has some weight behind it. You need to set your body up right to be the best possible version of yourself throughout the day. What a lot of people don’t consider is that the 8-9 hours you are asleep your body is technically “fasting” – and by prolonging this fasting till lunch your body basically goes into crisis mode. It starts screaming for fuel and you obey – by filling it with a larger portions of sugar-loaded food at lunch and any high cal snacks within reach. Skipping this important meal has been linked to increased risk of cardiovascular disease, insulin resistance and obesity – so if your skipping breakfast to shed pounds then think again. So be  more alert and present at work by fueling your body in the mornings.

Here’s my favourite go-to breakfast recipe. As a commuter, grab and go is EXTREMELY important – and why if I don’t plan ahead I end up in the Timmy’s drive-thru at 6am with a not-so healthy option. So make this breakfast quinoa ahead of time in Monday-Friday portions and take it with you on the run.

 

Breakfast Quinoa and Oats:

1. Put 1 cup of water and 1/3 cup quinoa in a pot and bring to a boil. Once boiling, lower down to simmer for 8 minutes.

2. I never actually measure out my oats at this point I just sprinkle in until I feel there is enough to soak up the last of the water. 1/3 of a cup will most likely work – play around with this each time you make it to get the consistency you want. I like more quinoa than oats, you might like more oats than quinoa.

3. Stir and allow the rest of the water to be absorbed (3-5 minutes). Take off the heat and let cool for 2 minutes.

Toppings:

This is the fun part – the base is so versatile! I tend to stick with 1 tbs MaraNatha peanut butter + cinnamon + hemp hearts and then I change the fruit up depending on whats in the house (my favourite is bananas, blueberries and strawberries).

Play with it and find what you like – add some organic honey, change the nut butter, mix up some fruits – it’s a great way to keep breakfast fun and exciting. Let me know if you try any good flavour combinations that I can add to my arsenal.

Enjoy your short week – and don’t forget to eat breakfast!

 

In Love & Health,

K.

My favourite toppings lined up and ready to go!
My favourite toppings lined up and ready to go!

 

Leave a Reply

