Day One: Oprah and Deepak’s 21 Day Meditation Challenge

Posted on

I’ve been feeling rather grumpy and emotional today for no large-scale reason and a gentle reminder this morning from a friend made me realize it might be the super moon we just experienced last night. A super moon is a full moon falling on a day where the moon is closest in its orbit to earth – this can make it appear 14% larger and 30% brighter in the night sky [1]. I spent the weekend up in Muskoka with some friends and we definitely experienced a much brighter moon. Even until the wee hours of the morning our lot was lit up bright and there were very few stars visible even though the sky was clear.

In astrology, a new moon symbolizes new beginnings and although the saying goes that people are always crazier around full moons, this, in fact, may be the case. Remove the word “crazy”, however. You may experience a period of restlessness or desire for expansion, some emotional turmoil may be brought into focus, or you may feel nothing at all during a full moon. A super moon may intensify this experience if you do feel change with the moon cycle. Doing a little research for this post I came across this great quote explaining the emotional effects of super moons and learning to accept the changes as they present themselves:

“Emotional storms will come and go. These are opportunities for people to learn how to deal with feelings while developing patience and understanding. It is also a chance to grow closer. Not all emotions will be negative and floods of love and happiness can wash over us too. Supermoons can have all of us getting in touch with our feminine sides.” [2]

Developing patience and understanding with myself is something I will forever focus energy on. So today, in my post-super moon haze of glum I realized that Deepak’s meditation challenge had started – and how appropriate as its central focus this month is Happiness. I find that each time a challenge is released the theme is related to what I’m dealing with at that time. Call it coincidence, but I appreciate the universe bringing me these gifts in a time of need. Today’s meditation was focusing on “happiness is my true nature” and opening up to the idea that striving for happiness externally is not sustainable. Happiness is within our consciousness, within ourselves.

I’m looking forward to spending the next 21 days connecting with my ananda (sanskrit for “bliss”) and exploring my internal awareness to happiness. Funnily enough, at the end of this meditation journey I will be returning to CCNM to begin my third, and final, academic year of naturopathic medicine. With many apprehensions of what this year has to offer, I atleast know that I will be going into it with a clear mind, open heart, and expanded ananda. 

Thanks Deepak, for always delivering to me exactly what my soul is crying for.

 

In love & health,

K.

If you’re interested in signing up for the meditation challenge, it’s not too late. It’s free to join and the 20 minute meditations are sent to your inbox each morning to be done on your own time throughout the day. Join me here to experience an expanded awareness of your own happiness!

https://chopracentermeditation.com/

[1] http://earthsky.org/space/does-the-supermoon-have-a-super-effect-on-us

[2] http://www.psychicsuniverse.com/articles/astrology/supermoons-how-can-they-affect-you

 

[1]
[1]
One thought on “Day One: Oprah and Deepak’s 21 Day Meditation Challenge

    Jodie Tatlock said:
    August 11, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Free Spirited Living and commented:
    After going through similar feelings yesterday, joining Deepak’s meditation challenge today, and anticipating the start of school in September – I couldn’t have said this better myself. Beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

