words that have shaped my spiritual journey

Posted on Updated on

When I came to CCNM I had no concept of spirit. It didn’t take long for the energetics of this building to light a fire inside of me to discover not only myself but my purpose in the Universe. I embarked on a journey that was more valuable than a degree to practice medicine, and though at times my life seemed clouded, my intuition has began to blossom.

I began connecting with myself through meditation. A practice I try to integrate into my routine as much as possible. You can read about my experiences with meditation on past blogs here and here. Yoga is another way I like to spend time connecting with myself. Breathing freely and exploring the way my body feels both physically and emotionally.

I’ve also always been an avid reader, and as much as my life and time is consumed by medical books, I always seek out additions to my library that will enrich my life on a more meaningful and personal level. Here are some pieces of work I have read that have kept me walking forward on my spiritual journey.

Anatomy of the Spirit: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing by Caroline Myss

My first dive into an unknown pool as with Anatomy of the Spirit, recommended to me by my first intern at the RSNC. Caroline is a beautiful author who shares with you her experiences working as a medical intuitive. She uses energetic medicine to show the depth of the mind-body connection and how physical illness is a reflection of our internal spirits. She breaks down the 7 energy centers, or chakras, in basic terms that make this a great read for new comers to the chakras. I’ve read this book 3 times now and will continue to pick it up in times when I need inspiration or a refresher.

Eastern Body Western Mind: Psychology and the Chakra System As a Path to the Self by Anodea Judith

This work I pick up periodically and have never read cover-to-cover (not for lack of interest but limited time). It’s another reference book that I have used to gain a better awareness and understanding of the chakra system and how the energetic centers relate to our physical health. Connecting the Eastern and Western perspectives of health and medicine, this book is a must for any aspiring Naturopathic Doctor. We are the bridge between East and West in the medicine world.

OmTimes: http://omtimes.com/

An online magazine bringing awareness to conscious living. Introduced to me in first year by a good friend (who writes an amazing blog over at Free Spirited Living: here), I have continued to follow articles on OmTimes that enlighten me in all areas of spiritual health and practice. Covering anything from relationships and healthy living to astronomy and lunar moon cycles, OmTimes is a always a quick and insightful read.

Questions about my journey? Feel free to ask by commenting below or emailing me at kelseyanneduncan@gmail.com – I would love to connect with you.

Join my Facebook tribe to Live Well, Now!

Click here to Like my Facebook page.

 

In love & health,

Kelsey

IMG_0066

Leave a Reply

