An afternoon pick-me-up that’s not coffee…

Posted on Updated on

I am a lover of all quick, healthy snacks. Especially when my days are 10-12 hours long and I know I’m going to need to fuel my body appropriately to get me to the finish line. That mid-afternoon coffee craving is real, and I’ve been battling for years, but I find I can keep my energy up with healthy, protein-packed snacks that satisfy my sweet tooth and give me a boost.

There are so many Pintrest (Are you following me on Pintrest yet? Click Here) recipes for protein energy balls but it took me 4 tries to make up my own version that works. So here it is – the BEST protein energy ball to pack in your purse for those mid-afternoon slumps.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup oats (gluten free option)

1/3 cup ground flax seed (better to purchase whole flax seed and grind yourself to ensure you are getting all the essential oils)

1/3 cup dried coconut

2 tbsp chia seeds

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (I use a dairy-free version by Enjoy Life)

1/2 cup creamy natural peanut butter (I like MaraNatha or Natur brands – any other brand I’ve tried they have come out too dry)

1/3 cup organic honey

1 tsp cinnamon

Stir all the ingredients together in a bowl. You might be thinking “this doesn’t look like enough moisture” – trust me, it is! Just keep stirring and packing down the ingredients. When it looks mixed, place the bowel in the fridge for 30 minutes to allow the mixture to set. Afterwards, begin rolling 1 inch balls and place them in an air-tight container in the fridge. Last for 1-2 weeks! The rolling is a messy process, stick with it! No raw ingredients here so feel free to lick that PB-goodness afterwards. 😉

IMG_0610 IMG_0609 IMG_0611 IMG_0614

Let me know what you think by commenting below!

In love & health,

Kelsey

4 thoughts on “An afternoon pick-me-up that’s not coffee…

    Your Mom said:
    November 20, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    What is the best way to grind the flax seed? Food processor?

      kelseyanneduncan responded:
      November 20, 2014 at 3:32 pm

      I just use my single-serve Ninja blender! A food processor would work fine as well.

    Jen said:
    November 26, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    can you buy the flax seed already ground?

      kelseyanneduncan responded:
      November 26, 2014 at 7:50 pm

      Hi Jen, I like to buy my flax seed whole and grind myself because pre-ground is more expensive and it actually goes rancid much quicker. When I’m using it a lot I will grind up a good amount and store in an air-tight container in my fridge for 5-7 days. There is some evidence out there supporting the loss of the beneficial omega-3s when using pre-ground flax – but the panel is out on that.
      Thanks for reading, I hope you like the recipe!
      Kelsey.

Leave a Reply

